Our Terroirs

The Estate

4 5 h e c t a r e s

We are located in Pomport in the Dordogne (24) in the middle of the Monbazillac appellation area, among the highest plateaus of the appellation (175m). Located south of Bergerac, just 50 kilometres east of Saint-Emilion. The estate covers 45 hectares divided into 3 blocks.

The Barouillet

P o m p o r t

Pomport , around the domain, an island of 30 hectares, kingdom of the whites. we elaborate there our sparkling wines, dry, sweet and liquorous whites, they are terroirs of calcareous clays formed by alternating layers of lacustrine limestone and molasses characteristic of the vineyard, the average density of plantation is of 5 000 feet by hectare and an average age of 50 years. We grow all the grape varieties authorised in the appellation plus a few other surprises: Sémillon, Muscadelle, Sauvignon blanc and gris, Chenin, Ondenc and Ugni blanc, as well as Chardonnay.

"At the bottom of the wine lies a soul."

– Théodore de Banville

vignes barouillet à pomport en périgord
The Barouillet

M e s c o u l e s

On the communes of Mescoules and Pomport, 10 hectares planted with red The vineyards have good exposure (east-west) on shallow clay soils with a tendency to limestone. The average planting density is 5,000 vines per hectare. The average age of the vines is about 30 years. The grape varieties are divided between Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Malbec for the most classic of the region. We have also worked on the endemic grape varieties of the region and have planted Merille (also known as Perigord) which is one of the only indigenous grape varieties of the Dordogne. We also have Fers Servadous or Braucol which are found throughout the South West.  More recently we have planted more fun varieties for the region with Pinots Noirs, Trousseau and Poulsard more related to personal tastes for light and fresh wines.

"Wine is the mirror of man."

– Alcée de Mytilène

The Barouillet

P é c h a r m a n t

5 hectares in Pécharmant located in the commune of Lembras north of Bergerac. We have a second wine storehouse placed in the middle of the vines which allows us to process the harvest very quickly. The exposure is due south on a gentle slope, the terroir is a real mosaic with stony parts of rolled sandstone, flint, other sandy clay parts, all on a base of white clay and "tran" (ferruginous clay characteristic of the terroirs of Pécharmant). The density of plantation is 5,500 vines/hectare for an average age of the vineyard of 25 years. The grape varieties are Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Malbec, which are the only four grape varieties authorised in the appellation.

Pécharmant

N o s T e r r o i r s

Le Domaine

4 5 h e c t a r e s

Nous sommes situés à Pomport en Dordogne (24) au beau milieu de l’aire d’appellation Monbazillac parmi les plateaux les plus hauts de l’appellation (175m). Situé au sud de Bergerac, à à peine 50 kilomètres à l’est de Saint-émilion. Le domaine s’étend sur 45 hectares répartis en 3 îlots.

Le Barouillet

P o m p o r t

Pomport , autour du domaine, un îlot de 30 hectares, royaume des blancs. nous y élaborons nos pétillants , blancs sec, moelleux et liquoreux, ce sont des terroirs d’argiles calcaires formés de couches alternées de calcaire lacustres et de molasses caractéristique du vignoble., La densité moyenne de plantation est de 5 000 pieds par hectare et un âge moyen de 50 ans . L’encépagement est varié nous cultivons tous les cépages autorisés en appellation plus quelques autres surprises on peut donc retrouver : le Sémillon la Muscadelle le Sauvignon blanc et gris, le Chenin, l’Ondenc et l’Ugni blanc mais aussi du Chardonnay.

"Au fond du vin se cache une âme."

– Théodore de Banville

vignes barouillet à pomport en périgord
Le Barouillet

M e s c o u l e s

Sur les communes de Mescoules et de Pomport, 10 hectares plantés de rouge bénéficiant de belles expositions (est-ouest) sur des sols argileux à tendance calcaire peu profonds. La densité moyenne de plantation est de 5 000 pieds/hectares. L’âge moyen des vignes est d’environ 30 ans. L’encépagement est réparti entre cabernet sauvignon, merlot, cabernet franc et malbec pour les plus classiques de la région. Nous avons aussi fait un travail sur les cépages endémiques de la région et avons planté de la mérille (aussi connu sous le nom de périgord) qui est l’un des seuls cépages autochtones de la Dordogne. Nous avons également des Fers Servadous ou Braucol que l’on retrouve dans tout le Sud Ouest.  Plus récemment nous avons plantés des variétés plus « fun » pour la région avec des Pinots Noirs, du Trousseau et du Poulsard plus liés a des goûts personnels pour des vins légers et frais.

"Le vin est le miroir de l'homme."

– Alcée de Mytilène

Le Barouillet

P é c h a r m a n t

5 hectares en Pécharmant situés sur la commune de Lembras au nord de Bergerac. Nous disposons d’un second chai de vinification placé au milieu des vignes ce qui nous permet un traitement très rapide de la vendange. L’exposition est plein sud sur une pente douce, le terroir est une vraie mosaïque avec des parties caillouteuses de grès roulés, de silex, d’autres parties argilos sableuses, le tout sur une base d’argile blanche et de “tran” (argile ferrugineuse caractéristique des terroirs de Pécharmant). La densité de plantation est de 5 500 pieds/hectare pour un âge moyen du vignoble de 25 ans . L’encépagement est réparti entre Merlot, Cabernet sauvignon, Cabernet franc et Malbec qui sont les 4 seuls cépages autorisés dans l’appellation.

Pécharmant